Help Center

Help Center

Search the Help Center for answers to your questions about Sprout Social. Still can't find what you're looking for? Contact Us.

Configure Advanced Permissions

Follow

Sprout Social has a flexible account hierarchy and permissions structure built for
the social media management of large enterprise businesses and agencies. It
is easy to organize and manage profiles the way that makes the most sense for
your business and give users different permissions based on what they should
manage. This guide explains how to successfully set up your managed social
profiles and users within the Sprout application.

Note: Advanced Permissions are available on Corporate and Enterprise plans.

Topics:

Use Groups
Invite New Team Members
Set Advanced Permissions

Use Groups

A group is a collection of related social profiles that help you organize and report on your social media efforts. You can organize your profiles in logical groups based on how your business operates and grant team members access to specific profiles depending on what they manage. Groups can be used to organize different social channels within your business or to effectively manage multiple clients.

Create a group

Create a new group under Settings » Users & Profiles, then click +Create new group. You may also use the Group dropdown.

Screenshot_1.png

Choose to either create a new group associated with a newly added social profile or create a group from an existing social profile in the application. You are required to connect a new or existing Twitter or Facebook profile to create a group.

Screenshot_2.png

Delete or edit a group

Select the group, then click the icons to delete or edit.

screenshot_1.5.png

 

Sprout Tip

Use Groups to align your profile management and reporting with your enterprise business needs. Some common uses for groups:

• Group your social channels by internal teams or organizations to manage their respective social profiles

• Streamline engagement by grouping profiles according to language or geography

• Group profiles to separately manage reporting and social networks for your clients

 

Invite New Team Members

Easily add your entire social team to Sprout and effectively collaborate to manage your social channels.

Invite a new team member

Click on the team member icon ( teammembers.png ) in the upper right hand corner of the application. You may also connect a user under Settings » Users & Social Profiles or within the Your Team sidebar.

Screenshot_5.png

 

Add the name and email address of the user you wish to invite. Click the + icon to add multiple users. 

Screen_Shot_2017-03-24_at_4.29.11_PM.png

Set Permissions

Choose the group(s) and associated profile access for the user. Users can be given No Access, Needs Approval, Can ReplyRead Only or Publish access to selected profiles. If a user has Read Only or Full Publishing permissions, they can also be given Approve privileges. Click Send Invites and the user(s) will receive an invite email notification.

Select Grant Manager Access to give a user additional administrative access to manage profiles & permissions. Click Allow to Invite Others to give your Manager permission to add other users to your account.

Give each user customized reporting access to Basic, Engagement, and/or Team Reports.

Screenshot_6.png

 

Set Advanced Permissions

Give your team members customized access to your Sprout account based on what they should be managing. The administrative controls are flexible and enable you to customize how your teammates can access different profiles based on their permission level. User permissions can also be set when the user is first invited to the application.

Configure user permissions

Click on a team member under the Your Team sidebar to view and/or modify their permissions. You may also configure permissions for a social profile by hovering over it and clicking manage in Settings » Users & Social Profiles.

Screenshot_7_-_V2.png

 

Users can be given Needs ApprovalRead Only, or Publish access to selected profiles, which defines how they can use and interact with the application. If given Read Only or Full Publishing access, they can also be granted the Approve permission. Various levels of reporting access can be granted as well.

A detailed explanation of the various levels of advanced permissions can be found by clicking the [?] icon in the app.

Note: If a user is granted reporting access, they can export reports for any of the profiles that they have access to regardless of their permission level (Needs Approval, Read Only, or Publish).

Screenshot_8.png

Global Permissions Rules

No Access

These team members do not have any rights to access a social profile. Profiles with No Access selected are completely invisible to the user.

Read-only

These team members cannot publish or draft to the social profile; however, these users have full visibility on all activity for a social profile. This includes all messages (public and private), scheduled messages, and any reports to which they have access.

Needs Approval

These team members cannot publishing messages, but they can draft messages to submit for approval. Users will also be able to suggest that messages get added to the Sprout Queue or have specific times scheduled for their posts when they submit them.

Can Reply

Similar to the Needs Approval permission, team members with Can Reply can draft and submit messages for approval, but they will also be permitted to reply to inbound messages in the Smart Inbox.

Publish

These team members have unlimited access to a social profile and all actions, including publishing.

Approve

These team members have the ability to approve submitted messages for specific profiles. They can only approve messages for the profiles for which they've been granted the Approve permission.

Read more about Message Approval workflows

Powered by Zendesk